2014 1/10th Electric Off-Road National Championship Report

At the beginning of 2014 we thought about how we should go about organising the 1/10th off road nationals. With the re-introduction of the Clubman class we felt we could have a National Championship that was open to everyone, whatever level the driver was at we wanted them there. We also wanted it to be fun, but at the same time have a good level of competition.

We think we achieved what we set out to, as we had more racers attend the nationals than we have seen for a number of years. There was thirty eight cars across the classes, with all rounds being well attended. We were delighted with the turn out, especially with some drives who normally race different classes and even some who haven’t raced for years coming back to the hobby.

Also, the level of interest in racing at next year`s EFRA euros is fantastic with up to ten drivers hoping to attend. Something we haven’t seen for a long time in Ireland.


Round 1, Navan Nirto Nuts

Round 1 was hosted by the guys at NNN on their 1/8th Astro track. The day started off dry but quickly changed to intermittent showers keeping the track nice and slippery for the majority of the day. Though talking to some of the drivers throughout the event they felt it made things interesting and was a good challenge. The day was dominated by Bradley Baird in 4wd Mod, Kevin White in 2wd Clubman and Mark Penny in 2wd Mod.

Some of the younger drivers were happy with their day, with the likes of Adam Keegan making the A final in 2wd and Team C driver Alan Thompson winning the B. Though he made an overall 5th, Dylan McBurney was getting the hang of racing at national level real quick with a win in the final leg of 2wd mod.

It was quite a relaxed round with Colin Whelan doing a great job in race control.

The NNN track before the rain


Round 2, Dublin Model Car Club

Round 2 saw the nationals return to the DMCC after its absence in 2013. DMCC is the only 1/10th off-road club in Ireland on an indoor Astro track. Yet again Mark Penny showed us how it`s done taking wins in both 2wd and 4wd mod in his AE cars. This time Dylan McBurney had top three finishes in both classes, showing that he had designs on the championship. He was a wise signing for Schumacher! Kevin White again took the win in 2wd Clubman, with Graham Parkes and Wayne McGuire just behind him.

Team McBurney surround Mark Penny (probably trying to steal his Ferrero Rocher)

Round 3, Dublin Model Car Club

The DMCC was again the venue for the next round.

This was the round Mark Penny cemented his overall win in 2wd Mod. He also put himself in a better position to get in front of Bradley Baird in 4wd. Dylan McBurney also got another two top three finishes, getting in an even better position in advance of the final round. Michael Bolger had two 2nds here too, again. Also the young lads done well for themselves with Alan Thompson and Adam Keegan getting A final finishes.

In 2wd Clubman Kevin White was missing, and Wayne McGuire took the 100 points giving him a boost in the championship driving the Tamiya.

Adam Keegan prepares for the A Final (looking a bit worried)


Round 4, Banbridge and District Model Car Club

The final round was to be held at the 1/8th Dirt and Astro track at BADMCC. There was a mix of dry and wet weather, though the rain only improved grip on the dirt. It was a lot of driver`s first trip to BADMCC, and some drivers first race on dirt.

Mark Penny wasn’t to race, so it left the door open for 100 points to the top drivers in both 2wd and 4wd. Though had he appeared, it wouldn’t have been a definite win for him judging by the standard of diving on the day. Especially from Bradley Baird who wiped the floor with the other divers in 4WD Mod.

Dylan McBurney had plans on a top 3 finish in 4wd, though with a breakdown and an unlucky 4th finish it wasn’t to be. Though he certainly made up for it with a fantastic win in 2wd mod. Mark had better watch out next year as this guy just keeps getting better.

Michael Bolger had a really consistent day and took away two podium finishes with his B5 and B44, with William White taking 3rd in 2wd Mod and Derek McCloskey getting 2nd in 4wd Mod.

This was Kevin Whites second visit to BADMCC and he took the win in 2wd Clubman to give him the overall championship win. For Wayne McGuire it was his first drive on dirt and he was delighted to come away with a second position for the day and overall just ahead of Dave Bolger.


Dylan McBurney shows the elder lemons how it’s done


Overall winners

2WD Clubman Winners:

1st Kevin White (Schumacher), 2nd Wayne McGuire (Tamiya), 3rd Dave Bolger (Associated)

4WD Modified Winners:

Tied in 1st Bradley Baird (Sworkz) and Mark Penny (associated), 3rd Michael Bolger (Associated)

2WD Modified Winners:

1st Mark Penny (Associated), 2nd Dylan McBurney (Schumacher), 3rd Michael Bolger (Associated)



The RCCAOI would like to thank everyone who made this year series happen. Mentioning a few names, Enda O`Donnell and Colin Whelan at NNN, Barkley Abernethy at BADMCC, Kevin White and Ken Gordon at DMCC. We know a lot of guys at each club prepared their tracks for us giving up a lot of their time. Thanks to all of you.

But most of all the drivers who turned up at each round no matter what the weather forecast said, and who gave us all some very exciting racing to participate in and watch. Well done to all!


Racing went ahead at Craigavon on Saturday despite the treat of rain all day which in the end never appeared. Qualifying was a close affair between all the competitors on the days with Mark taking TQ over Andrew who had to fend off several challanges from Graham throughout qualifying. In the end after the three legs it's congratulation to Mark Gilliland for taking the victory at the Final Touring Car round of 2014. This victory also gives Mark the overall win in the Championship over Alan Bickerstaff.

Coming in second on the day was Andrew Smith followed closely by Graham Kenny. Both Graham and Andrew were fighting it out for 3rd place overall in the Championship which after this rounds results are added to the series gives 3rd to Andrew on a count back. Big thanks once again to the Craigavon Club for hosting the event and to the supportive 1/5th bikers who came to race alongside the TC's for the day.


Round 4 of the RCCAOI 1/10th Electric off road Nationals is on at the BADMCC on Saturday 30th August.
Gates will be open at 8:30am with the track open for practice from 9:00 till 10am.
Please book in as soon as you arrive!
Booking in will finish at 10am with the drivers briefing shortly after.
The first heat will kick off at 10:30am.
We will also stop for approx. 30 minutes lunch break after Qualifying.
There is covered pitting however there is no power provided.
Race fee is €10 for the first class plus €5 for a second.
Control tyres for the day is Proline Calibre on all driven axles.
The timing system is Mylaps RC4.
Please see http://www.badmcc.com/ for directions.
If you have any queries please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. as we cannot guarantee a timely reply via social media/ forums.
See you there!!!