1/8th Scale Off Road National Championships

Round 3, June 15th & 16th, Monaghan Radio Control Car Club

Hi All,

I just want to give drivers some information in advance of Round 3 of the 1/8th Scale Off-Road National Championship at Monaghan Radio Control Car Club.

·         Saturday, gates open at 10:30am, open practice from 12 noon to 5pm.

·         Sunday, gates open at 7.00am, with open practice from 8.00am to 9.30am.

·         Booking in closes 9.30am sharp, with the first race off the line at 10am.

·         Race Fees, Saturday €8, Sunday €12. You must be booked in and paid before using the track.

·         Rccaoi membership is mandatory.




Contact …..         Paul : 086 2617538 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.           


Greg Cunningham      


1/8th Scale Off Road National Championships

Round 2, June 24th & 25th, Cork Radio Control Car Club

The 1/8th scale off road Championship once again very well supported, with a record attendance for a National at the Cork track, with 34 competitors across the two classes, and almost all making the practice day on Saturday. The layout in Cork is totally new since the last National round was held there in 2015, a tighter more technical track made for some intense racing. The weather was ideal, and the atmosphere among the racers was also high, with the all dirt surface presenting some new challenges, compared the the Astro and Multi surface tracks these racers are used to. Some drivers found the pace a little quick, especially those double classing, as the timing system was kept moving, and on time all day. Others found it a challenge to get out to their marshal positions on time, but that did not slow proceedings.

By the time the finals got under way on Sunday, the track had developed a little more character then it had at the start of the event, and the racing lines were changing all day. William White took T.Q. out of qualifying in the E Buggy Class (Tekno) and Bradley Baird took pole position again in the Nitro class (TLR). True to form, Bradley came in first position in the A Nitro final, but with a narrower margin than we are used to seeing in a National final.  Andrew Mc Clean was just one lap behind the leader, a promising result for the young Agama driver. Alan Scroggie got third with his Kyosho MP9.

The E buggy Final was also hard fought with Bradley first and William second, finishing less than a lap apart, Gary Baird came in third just one lap behind.

                                                   1/8th Nitro A Final                                                                1/8th Ebuggy Final

                           2nd Andrew Mc Clean   1st Bradley Baird  3rd Alan Scroggie          2nd William White    1st Bradley Baird     3rd Gary Baird





The overall feedback from the drivers was that the Cork club had put on a great event, the weekend went off without a hitch, and everyone is looking forward to a return visit in the near future.



Greg Cunningham

1/8th Scale Rep

Efra have the latest action in the European 1/8th calendar taking part this weekend at in Reding, France. With Close racing throughout the Euro B's, this event highlights the best in up and coming new racers from across Europe. Local racer Bradley Baird has made the trip over to compete in this event. Check out his progress with the Live Stream on RCRacing TV ( Heat 9 (Car 2). Timings are also available through MyRCM ( )